National Association of Deafened People
National Association of Deafened People

Heather Jackson Award

Heather Jackson was NADP’s Chairman until we lost her to cancer in 2007 after a short illness at the age of 58. A charismatic leader, she was not only a guiding force for NADP but was also a trainer on the residential courses at the LINK Centre (now Hearing Link) and Chairman of the CACDP (now Signature) Deaf Awareness Committee and CACDP’s Vice Chairman.


An annual Award has been instituted in her memory, with the support of her family, and involving the three charities with which she was closely associated. This is awarded to a deafened person who has made a significant contribution to the improvement of the welfare and opportunity of deafened people. Note that the Award is only open to people who are deafened or have a substantial hearing loss.


Previous winners are Geoff Brown, Jane Atkinson, Ross Trotter, Cathy Cobbold, Ruth Myers, Peter Pullan, and Jane Shaw, Ronnie Bourne.



The nomination form is available in word version



HJ Award 2016 Nomination Form.docx
Microsoft Word document [11.4 KB]

Registered Charity 294922

Print Print | Sitemap